Please join Sonata à Quattro in November for

A Dark & Stormy Night

a chamber music program of fury, loss . . . and bubbly joy

Kristin Knutson, soprano
Christine Hauptly Annin, violin
Nathan Giglierano, violin
Marika Fischer Hoyt, viola
Charlie Rasmussen, cello
Dan Sullivan, harpsichord

with special guest
Linda Pereksta, flute

In Two Performances:

Saturday, November 23, 2019 at 7:00 PM

St. Matthias Episcopal Church
111 E. Main Street, Waukesha
Tickets available online and at the door.
Click here to order tickets online.

Sunday, November 24, 2019 at 2:30 PM

Madison Chinese Christian Church
1510 Madison St., Madison
$15 General Admission
Tickets available online and at the door
Click here to order tickets online.
Please note: this venue has stairs and no elevator.

Join us for a program of dark and stormy pieces! Sonata à Quattro’s 3rd Season opens with a program which explores the darker side of human experience, from Vivaldi’s motet, burning with godly rage, to Bach’s secular Cantata, deploring the departure of a beloved friend. Quantz’ bubbly Flute Quartet in D Major provides some needed moments of optimism, before we turn to the poignant, brooding Barrière Cello Sonata. Even the viola gets a turn, in the Telemann, to unfold a haunting saga of tragic beauty.

But the composers do not leave us in despair; each one leads the listener through the dark night of the soul, to the morning after.

Bonus: the Bach Cantata opens with an awesome instrumental Sinfonia that is not to be missed! SAQ is so pleased to welcome flutist Linda Pereksta, a consummate artist who shines in the Quantz, Telemann, and Bach.

• Motet: In furore iustissimae irae, RV 626 by Antonio Vivaldi
• Quartet No. 1 in D Major by Johann Joachim Quantz
• Cello Sonata in C Minor, Book II No. 6 by Jean-Baptiste Barrière
• Concerto à 4 in D Minor, TWV 43:d2 by Georg Philipp Telemann
• Cantata 209: Non sa che sia dolore by Johann Sebastian Bach

The Madison concert will be followed by a dark chocolate reception.